Day 10: Migas

Standard

Today is officially day 10 of the Pinterest Project, one day late that is. For those of you who are regular readers, I skipped a day yesterday. I know I shouldn’t have, but this past week was very tiring, and I needed a day to just relax. Plus, I read almost 250 pages of Mockingjay, so creating something was one of the last things on my mind. Tonight before bed, I’ll finish the last 40 pages of Mockingjay, but you’ll hear about that tomorrow.

Migas are on today’s menu. These aren’t just any Migas though, they’re my Migas that I posted to Pinterest. Coming from Texas I LOVE TexMex and Migas is one of my favorite brunch items to eat. They’re really easy to make and they have one of my favorite ingredients in them – eggs!

Migas with Turkey Bacon (makes 2 servings)

Ingredients:

  • 5 eggs
  • 4 pieces of Turkey Bacon
  • 1/4 cup chopped onion
  • 2 tortillas (flour or corn) cut into 1 inch pieces
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • Splash of Milk
  • 1/4 cup grated cheese
  • Salt and Pepper to taste

Directions:

In a frying pan, cook Turkey Bacon as directed on packaging. When fully cooked, remove from pan onto a paper towel lined plate. [I had 6 pieces of Turkey Bacon left, so I ended up just cooking all of them because they were about to expire, but only 4 are used in the Migas.]

In same pan heat 1 tablespoon of oil over medium-low heat. Add onions, salt and pepper to taste and cook until browned and translucent (about 4-5 minutes). When fully cooked, remove onions from pan and set aside.

 In same pan, add remaining olive oil and cook tortilla pieces until they are brown and crispy (about 4-5minutes). I used four tortillas, but you can use corn as well.

Whisk together eggs and the splash of milk into a separate bowl. If you don’t have milk, you can use water – both of these help make the eggs fluffier. Break the bacon into smaller pieces and add bacon pieces and onions to the egg mixture. Pour egg mixture over tortilla pieces and cook until the egg has set.

 Once eggs are done, divide onto two plates and top with shredded cheese. I also like to add salsa to the top of my Migas. Pace Picante is some of my favorite salsa to eat on eggs and that’s what I added! Add some hash browns or home fries and you’ve got a TexMex brunch!

I was only able to eat like 4 of my fries before I was just too full! These Migas are some of my favorite things to cook! They are so tasty and amazing! Try them out and you’ll love them!

Leave a Reply

