Day 8: Chicken Cashew Lettuce Wraps

Standard

I don’t know about you, but I’m a sucker for lettuce wraps. There’s something about eating warm chicken wrapped in a cold, crisp piece of lettuce that is just so satisfying and tasty! Plus they’re made with fresh ginger which is one of my favorite ingredients to cook with because I love the smell of fresh ginger! So, for day 8 of the Pinterest Project I am making lettuce wraps and the recipe that I repinned is originally from the blog ‘She wears many hats.’

Chicken Cashew Lettuce Wraps

Ingredients:

For stir fry sauce:
  • 2 tablespoons soy sauce
  • 1 tablespoon rice vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon brown sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground red pepper
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1 teaspoon sesame oil
For Cashew Chicken:
  • 2 chicken breasts (about 3/4 lb. total), diced
  • 8 leaves of green leaf or iceberg lettuce
  • 3 tablespoons canola oil (or oil of choice)
  • 1 cup onion, diced
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 teaspoon soy sauce
  • 1/4 cup cashews, chopped
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

For the stir fry sauce:

Mix all of the ingredients together in a small bowl, making sure the brown sugar dissolves. Set aside to use later.

For the Cashew Chicken:

Heat oil in pan over medium to medium high heat. Add the diced chicken cook until browned (about 4-5 minutes). Remove the chicken from the oil and set aside. Add the onions, garlic and 1 teaspoon of soy sauce to remaining oil and cook until golden brown and tender. Add stir fry sauce mixture, browned chicken and cashew to the pan. Saute mixture for a few minutes and then remove from heat.

Spoon chicken mixture into individual lettuce leaves. Add your favorite hot sauce and/or cashews and enjoy! Makes 6-8 lettuce wraps.

I added a premade Satay Peanut Sauce from Trader Joe’s to the top of my lettuce wraps. It added a sweet, nutty taste to the already spicy taste of the chicken. It was so delicious and good and I devoured 3 lettuce wraps before I even realized it.

This is a recipe that I’m definitely going to keep on hand. It only took me about 30 minutes total to make these lettuce wraps. Not only were they easy to make, but they weren’t too heavy which is perfect for dinner. The last thing you want is a heavy meal a few hours before you go to bed. I thought about making a side of rice to go along with this, but I’m glad I didn’t. Try this recipe out and you will not regret it!

Leave a Reply

