Day 4: Pizza Dip

Standard

Day 4 of the Pinterest Project is here and I decided to make Pizza Dip for dinner. You’re probably thinking dip for dinner, but that’s not a real meal and I know it isn’t, but that’s what I wanted! I spent most of my day today running errands and finishing the first book in the Hunger Games series, so I wanted to make something easy. I’ve seen this recipe everywhere on Pinterest for the last few weeks and since it is so popular, it seemed like a good recipe to try out.

Pizza Dip – I must admit that I was a little weary about trying this recipe because I don’t like cream cheese, sour cream or mayonnaise. I know, I’m weird like that, but foods that are sour or creamy like these disgust me. Also, I’m not a big pepperoni eater, but you could really add any topping to this pizza dip. I’m just going into this hoping that it really tastes just like pizza.

Ingredients:

  • 4 ounces cream cheese, room temperature
  • 1/4 cup sour cream
  • 1/4 cup mayonnaise
  • 1 cup mozzarella, grated
  • 1/2 cup parmigiano reggiano (parmesan), grated
  • 1 cup pizza sauce (recipe at bottom)
  • 2 ounces pepperoni, sliced

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Combine the cream cheese, sour cream, mayonnaise, 1/2 cup of mozzarella and 1/4 cup of parmigiano reggiano. Spread mixture across the bottom of a pie plate evenly. Spread the pizza sauce over cheese mixture. Sprinkle the remaining 1/2 cup of mozzarella and 1/4 cup of parmigiano reggiano onto of sauce. Top with pepperoni slices. Bake for 20 minutes or until the cheese is melted and is golden brown. Eat with toasted slices of french bread.

Pizza Sauce – I personally thought this was a little too watery and thin and it looked more like tomato soup, rather than pizza sauce. I would recommend using a pre-made pizza sauce, like the one that Trader Joe’s offers.

Ingredients:

  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 clove garlic (chopped)
  • 1 (14 ounce) can tomatoes (pureed)
  • 1/2 teaspoon oregano
  • salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

Heat oil in a saucepan over medium-low heat. Add the garlic and sautee until fragrant for about a minute. Add the pureed tomatoes, oregano and salt and pepper to pan. Simmer over low heat until it thickens for about 20 minutes. Let cool before adding it to the dip. Yields 2 cups.

I must admit, that when I pulled the pizza dip out of the oven after over 20 minutes of it cooking, the first words that crossed my mind were EPIC FAIL. My pizza dip did not look anything like the picture on the blog ‘Closet Cooking.’ The cheese was melted, but not golden brown and the dip did not look like it had set – it just looked too  runny. Like I said earlier, I thought the recipe for the pizza sauce wasn’t a good one. It was just too watery and it definitely affected the consistency of the pizza dip. Also, the base mixture of cheese and mayo just looked disgusting when I spooned some of the dip onto my bread. Some of it had clumped together and reminded me of little bits of cottage cheese, which I also find absolutely disgusting. Because I spent time making this dip, I ate some of it, but I tried to eat the top part mainly consisting of the sauce and cheese. Overall, I was not impressed with this recipe and will not be making it again anytime soon. If you have any suggestions or if you did something different and yours turned out better, then let me know!

2 responses »

  1. While I’ve found some awesome recipes on pinterest, I’ve made one or two that I will not be making again. The mayo, sour cream, cream cheese combo probably would have scared me off of this one.

  2. Yeah I’m glad I tried it out because now I know I don’t need to try it again. It was just too weird and making the cheese/mayo combo totally grossed me out! I figure that while doing this project, I’m going to a have a few fails, this was one of them.

Leave a Reply

